Accidental Mom

The kids in the cockpitI’ve always wanted to be a mom.  No doubt! From as far back as I can remember I wanted to be pregnant and have a baby of  my own.  When I was a kid it seemed as if my Mom was pregnant all the time.  Of course that wasn’t true, but from the time I was 7 until I was 11 it sure seemed liked all I ever saw my mother wearing was maternity clothes.  I don’t know if that’s what laid the foundation for this crazy desire to be a mom, but I’m sure it was a major contributor.

So, when I got married at the tender age of 42 I knew that the clock was ticking and if I wanted to be a mom, we’d have to get crackin’ on making it happen.  When nothing happened in the first year of our marriage we took the medical route and sought help from the “best” fertility docs available in our state.  Eight rounds of treatment and one miscarriage later, we gave up.

In May of 2011, just two weeks after my thyroid cancer surgery, my husband few to Phoenix to bring his three grandchildren to live with us.  We thought it would be just for the summer; it turned into 16 months.  The picture is of their first plane ride!

2 thoughts on “Accidental Mom

  1. Kelly I love this! I am sorry to hear of your thyroid cancer surgery – but am looking forward to hearing the rest of your story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

