Me, Speechless? It Happens

Kash on boardI always tried my best to talk to the kids about anything they brought up in conversation.  My feeling uncomfortable or unsure of what to say to them, shouldn’t make them feel like they couldn’t tell me anything that was on their minds.  The good thing about it was that, most of the time, I could recount a story told by one of my siblings’ kids would come to mind when I most needed it. In this case I didn’t quite know what to say.

Most weekday mornings the house was filled with all the usual activities of getting three kids and two grown-ups out the door for school and work.  Since the kids got lunch at school, the only worries were backpacks, homework, and presentable school clothes; and breakfast.  I’m not so sure why but, these kids didn’t always care for breakfast–a story for a different day.  Kash had come racing down the stairs in to the kitchen, with one arm still to push through his sweatshirt and said:

Kash glasses“Grandma, did you know if you touch yourself (read as “boy part”) in just the right place, it makes your WHOLE body feel good.”  He wiggled his body as if a shiver went up his back.  Thankfully, I was able to turn around to attend to something else and let out a little smile; I wasn’t quite sure what to say.  This was the best I could do:  “Really Kash, I bet that’s something that Grandpa would love to talk to you about!” He replied kind of quickly, “That’s okay Grandma, I’m good.”    And so, the day continued…

One thought on “Me, Speechless? It Happens

Leave a Reply

